WELCOME to FACILITIES Design and Construction!
Facilities Design and Construction manages Carolina's renovations and new construction. Our department's management and oversight responsibilities encompass the University's entire system of campuses. We are the people responsible for projects from conception to completion.
To successfully carry out this ambitious mission, our project managers work with every project's stakeholders to manage budgets, define requirements, negotiate change orders, communicate plans and schedules, design the interiors, and ensure that the exterior spaces are compatible with the University's vision for an urban campus.
Our managers guide relationships throughout the often challenging duration of a project and are sought out for answers to questions on budgets; plans, schedules and performance. They are USC's liaisons to its contractors and providers.
We hold hands, shake hands, lend helping hands and applaud when the job is done!
Although the FDC staff includes architects and engineers, all of the University's capital project design work is contracted to private architectural/engineering firms. A/E firms and contractors are procured for University projects in strict accordance with the South Carolina Procurement Code for Design and Construction. Your questions about the procurement process should be referred to Office of the State Engineer.
If you need more information please contact us at 803-777-5996 or 803-777-3126.
I hope you will visit our site often for up-to-date project information and to obtain additional information regarding our services as our web site grows.
Jeffrey D. Lamberson, P.E.
DeployedView the published version of the page. This view is available when in "PREVIEW" and "EDIT" modes.
NOTE – In general, you may switch from one mode to any other mode.
PreviewView page changes prior to publication. This view is available when in "DEPLOYED" and "EDIT" modes.
EditPrepare the page for publication. "Checks out" the page for changes to the content and closes it to changes by other users.
The "EDIT" mode is disabled when a changed page is submitted for approval (Request Approval); awaiting deployment (Deploy); after approval (Approve); or if checked out (Edit) for making changes by someone else.
Important note about EDITing pages:
If page is exited or reloaded without saving changes the changes will be lost.
To follow links (eg. for testing them) FROM THE PAGE –OPEN THEM IN ANOTHER WINDOW (TAB) (to do that hold the <Ctrl> key when clicking on the link).
To be safe and to prevent the unintentional loss of your work, always preserve a back-up copy in a separate file (copy/paste the source code).
For additional information about using the "EDIT" features:
- use the "About CKEditor" (button <?>), "Check CKEditor User's Guide for help." link
Check InWhen you have completed your edits of the page "CHECK it IN". Checking a page in frees the pages for others (with the correct permissions) to work with the page. If changes are made and NOT saved, checking in will save them. Checking in returns you to preview mode (Preview).
Load DeployedThis allows to load to the editor (Edit) what is exposed to the site visitors. Clearly it overrides the content of the editor (warning is displayed). It brings you to the editor (Edit) if you were not there already. Respectively it attempts to check out the page to you (which may not be possible if someone is having it checked out already).
Request ApprovalWhen your changes are complete, you should change the status of the page to "REQUEST APPROVAL". Changing the page to this status will close the page to additional edits until after the page is deployed by the Administrator or the changes are rejected.
Approve"APPROVE" allows deployment of the page by the Administrator. Please note that, while a page is awaiting approval and deployment, the page is disabled for additional edits.
RejectWhen changes to a page are "REJECTED", the page is no longer locked for additional edits or other actions.
DeployDEPLOYING a page publishes the page to the website. It also releases the edit lock on the page and allows additional changes to the page.
Rollback"ROLLING BACK" by the Administrator will restore the published page to a prior version. Please note, however that the rolled back content is not deleted from the database.
InformationThe "INFORMATION" option provides data about the content of the page being viewed. This includes data such as the saved/approved/deployed dates and user for each status.